[hackerspaces] Inventor Meetup site - legit?

Simon Dorfman simon at gumbolabs.org
Tue Nov 24 21:39:05 CET 2009

I went to the site and read this: "If your idea is selected, you'll be paid
a $2,500 advance plus a generous percentage of sales."

That sounds like a scam.  Reminds me of "design contests" where graphic
designers are similarly exploited.  Here's a quote that sums it up pretty

"Business and organizations, with the ability to pay going rates for
professional graphic design services, have found the lure of winning a
“contest” will reel in large numbers of designers for the chance of a few
minutes of fame, a little glory and perhaps cash or prizes not nearly worth
the value of the design effort on the open market. In return, those
conducting these design lotteries often get a virtual menu of design
options, and the rights to use all entries as they please, with little need
of valuable prize options or the outlay of much cash."


On Tue, Nov 24, 2009 at 1:29 PM, john arclight <arclight at gmail.com> wrote:

> So we just got an e-mail from some at this place:
> www.EdisonNation.com
> They claim to be a sort of "Facebook" for inventors and
> manufacturers/marketers.  They know about hacker spaces and were encouraging
> us to list our site profile there.
> I know that a lof of the "send us your invention" places are scams.  Does
> anyone have any experience with this outfit?
> Cheers,
> Arclight
> http://shop.23b.org
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://lists.hackerspaces.org/pipermail/discuss/attachments/20091124/14d8de30/attachment.html>

More information about the Discuss mailing list